Fabick CAT History
John Fabick Tractor Co., 3100 Gravois Ave.
St. Louis, MO (1941-1973)
The late John Fabick, Sr., founded the first Fabick Company in 1917, merchandising Cletrac Crawler Tractors and John Deere farm implements. With only three employees and one small store on South Grand Avenue in St. Louis, Mr. Fabick set out to "build the greatest service organization of its kind." To achieve this goal, he adopted as his company creed "to ever serve our customer better."
In 1921, Mr. Fabick expanded his business by including the Model A and Model S Crawler Tractors manufactured by C.L. Best. Four years later, C.L. Best and Holt Manufacturing merged to form the organization that is known today as Caterpillar Inc., the world's leading manufacturer of construction machinery. From this early beginning, the association between Fabick and Caterpillar Inc. has grown hand-in-hand and continues to thrive.
Today, there are more than 600 employees including members of the Fabick family's third, fourth, and fifth generations, working together under the active leadership of the founder's great-grandson, Douglas Fabick, president, and his father, Harry Fabick, Chairman of the Board. What makes Fabick CAT unique is not only its size, but its outstanding people, support, and facilities bound together by the single concept of total service capability for the equipment owner.
Fabick CAT service departments have more than 160,000 square feet of under-roof service area. Each service department is equipped with the very latest in tooling and diagnostic equipment.
Fabick CAT field service is provided through fully equipped service vehicles operated by specially trained technicians. In addition to these, there are support vehicles that also serve to provide quick response to customer requirements. Fabick CAT's computerized inventory of more than 108,000 replacement parts and components is backed by Caterpillar's parts network and linked to Caterpillar dealers around the world.
» read more...